Skip to content

IELTS test in Australia – a change in the order of components

Today I wanted to alert everyone who is about to take the IELTS test in Australia to a change in the order of components.

The official order of IELTS components is as follows:

1. Listening
2. Reading
3. Writing
4. Speaking (sometimes the Speaking test is delivered on the same day with the other 3 tests, and sometimes it is not)

However, recently there was a change in the order of the first 3 components in Australia, and the current order is:

1. Writing
2. Reading
3. Listening
4. Speaking (no change)

As far as we know at this stage (June 2014) this change was only made in Australia and other countries are unaffected.

If you took the IELTS test in another country (not in Australia) and the components were not in the official order, please write to and let us know, so we can update everyone on the blog.

3 thoughts on “IELTS test in Australia – a change in the order of components”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *